The great organ of the Frauenkirche in Dresden was completed for the new church (1727) in 1736. The organ was destroyed along with the church and most of the city in 1945.


Principal 16 Quintaden 16 Gedackt 8 Grosser Untersatz 32
Octav-Principal 8 Principal 8 Principal 4 Principal-Bass 16
Viol di Gamba 8 Quintaden 8 Rohrflöte 4 Octav-Bass 8
Rohr-Flöthen 8 Gedackt 8 Quinta scharff 2 2/3 Octav-Bass 4
Octava scharff 4 Octava 4 Nassat 2 2/3 Mixtura VI
Spitzflöthe 4 Flöthen 4 Octaven 2 Posaunen-Bass 16
Quinta 2 2/3 Nassat 2 2/3 Gemshorn 2 Trompeten-Bass 8
Super-Octava 2 Octaven 2 Sifflet 1 Clairon-Bass 4
Tertia 1 3/5 Sesquialtera II Mixtura III
Cornetti V Mixtura IV Chalumeau 8
Mixtura VI Vox Humana 8
Cymbel III
Fagott 16
Trompete 8
Tremulant for Hauptwerk and Pedal
Separate tremulant for Vox Humana

This instrument has many features found in other organs of Saxony in the first half of the eighteenth century:

  • There are three manual divisions (Hauptwerk, Oberwerk, and Brustwerk), but no Rückpositiv.
  • The pedal division is somewhat larger than many other instruments, but although it has a Principal Chorus and three reeds, there is no Subbass or Gedackt.
  • Color stops can be found on all three manual divisions. They include the string stops developed in this area as well as some "consort" stops.
The stoplist also includes both narrow-scale and wide-scale mutations, a characteristic of Silbermann's organs.
  • Narrow-scale Quinta and Tertia on the Hauptwerk, Sesquialtera on the Oberwerk.
  • Wide-scale Cornet on the Hauptwerk and Nasat on both Oberwerk and Brustwerk.
The reeds were praised for their particular beauty and pleasant tone.

© 2000 AD James H. Cook